Skip to content
September 19, 2008 / April T.

Chocolate Tasting Party Recap

When I first planned my chocolate tasting party, I just thought I’d invite a couple of people over to taste my yummy new chocolates from World Market and watch Chocolat.  Then I did a little research, and I found out that there is actually a very specific way that you’re supposed to taste chocolate.

Chocolate tasting is a sensory experience, it includes all 5 senses: sight, smell, sound, feel and taste.

  • Sight – look to see the color and sheen of the chocolate, this can indicate quality and the type of cocoa bean used.
  • Smell – The aroma will entice your olfactory system, which is 70% of your overall chocolate tasting experience, this will set an expectation of what’s to come.
  • Sound – snap the chocolate in half and listen for the sound it makes, the more cacao in the product the sharper the “snap” sound should be.
  • Feel – First place the chocolate on your tongue and allow it to slightly melt, then push the chocolate against the roof of your mouth and feel the smoothness.
  • Taste – Chocolate has a beginning, middle, and end; the taste will evolve in your mouth. Pay attention to these changes in flavor.
  •  

    I found these two  resource helpful: 1. “How to lead a chocolate tasting” video series by John Sharffenberger and 2. “A guide to hosting a chocolate tasting party”from ChocolateUSA.org

     Continue for more tips and pics…

    The Chocolate: Apparently there’s some debate over whether you are supposed to taste chocolate from dark to light or light to dark.  Our method was much more arbitrary, I basically just placed them randomly, according to how I thought they would taste best.

    Cleansing the palate:  Room temperature water (sparkling or flat), green apples and unsalted crackers are best to cleanse the palate.  I also added some yummy compliments to chocolate like Strawberries, pretzels, and angel food cake.

    Overall, this little party was so much fun!  I highly recommend that you get your friends together to try it.  Everyone agreed that we experienced chocolate in a whole new way.  It really was a sensory experience (especially the Vosges Red Fire Bar) 😉

    The favorites were: 1. Vosges Red Fire Bar 2. Sharffenberger Milk Chocolate Nibby Bar and 3. New Tree Tranquility Lavendar Bar.

    The least favorites were: Vosges Oaxaca Bar and the Theo Bread & Chocolate bar. They were, very “interesting”. 

    Click here to read about another Chocolate tasting. 

    One Comment

    Leave a Comment
    1. amanda / Jan 3 2009 6:07 am

      So awesome! I got to this post via the “possibly related posts” in my own blog; I just had my first chocolate-tasting party last night. I agree with you that it’s a wonderful new way to experience chocolate & to appreciate the subtle nuances you might not otherwise pick up. That Sharf Milk Choc Nibby Bar sounds so good — and I’m glad you tried the Bread & Choc bar, because I was curious but iffy about that. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

