Skip to content
May 22, 2008 / April T.

The Picnic

I think my sister is leaning toward having a picnic for her graduation party (and leaning away from having a fiesta).  So, here’s a few ideas for her picnic.

The decor:  lots of stores are releasing their outdoor entertaining lines now.  Here are some picks from my favorite stores; Sur la Table, Pottery Barn, Crate and Barrel and Pier 1.

1.  Thick Green Hurricanes, from Pier 1  2. Red Lantern, from Crate & Barrel    3.  Red and White polka dot placements, from Sur la Table  4.  Red and White Check Tablecloth, from Sur la Table    5.  Dotty Cocktail Napkins, from Crate & Barrel   6.  Rattan Picnic Basket, from Crate & Barrel  7.  Mini tea light lanterns, from Pier 1

 

The Menu:Basic picnic fare, including wholesome sandwiches, fruit, chips, and maybe a potato salad.

 

These Chipwood baskets from Pottery barn would be a fun way to serve sandwiches.

 To drink:  fun lemonades, spritzers, and a refreshing watermelon granita. (Click pictures for recipes)

   

I had my heart set on making an angel food cake with fresh strawberries, like my grandma makes. But these desserts from Martha Stewartare perfect for a summer picnic. mmm.

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Darrell Sharp / Mar 15 2011 12:10 am

    I enjoyed reading all the recipes that went into the picnic baskets. The thing I noticed was the title. The little things. I believe it’s the little things that make the best recipes. My recipe all you would need is one measuring cup .Once you have your cup in hand add 1 cup of the following: love, joy, laughter, commitment and mix it up with the one you love to share it with and you have the perfect recipe for any picnic basket!

Leave a comment