Skip to content
May 19, 2008 / April T.

Just one more…

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes & Cupcake tips (as in piping)

After a week filled with cupcake related posts, I have to admit that I’m just a little tired of the subject. But,  I made these yummy pink lemonade cupcakes this weekend, and I took the time to take these pictures, so by golly they are getting posted.  So bear with me for just one more little (well, not really so little) cupcake post before we move on to some fun party ideas this week.

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

DSC_0110

 Yummy.  These cupcake were delicious on the first day.  They were still yummy the second day, but the icing seemed to be a bit more tart.  So, if you’re planning on making these….eat them all at once. 🙂 Just like the Margarita Cupcakes and the Coconut Cupcakes, these are based off of white cake mix, which makes them perfect for parties.

You can find the recipe here, at Confections of a Foodie Bride.

I decided to try to make this batch look a little more professional than my previous ziploc baggie look (see the margarita cupcakes).  So I took a little trip to Michael’s to pick up the essentials:  a 16″ featherweight decorating bag, large coupler, a couple of tips, and a cute little dishwasher bag for the tips.

cupcake decorating tools

 After doing some research, I chose 5 different tips that I wanted to experiment with. Unfortunately, Michael’s only carried two of those. The 1M and 2D, seemed to be the most commonly used, so I figured this would be a good start.  Maybe I’ll try to order the others online later, if I get around to it.  For the most part, these two tips gave a very similar effect.  A person with a discerning eye could definitely tell the difference, but I think most of my family scarfed down these cupcakes without even noticing.

Wilton 1MDSC_0097

DSC_0098Wilton 2D

Here’s the difference side-by-side.  Not the best piping job, but you get the idea.

DSC_0095

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Annette / May 19 2008 9:18 pm

    These look and I’m sure taste delicious! I would have a hard time only having one!! Thanks for the “Link Love”

  2. ovenhaven / May 20 2008 3:04 am

    These really look like they belong in a professional bakery! 🙂 Coincidentally, those are the only two tips I’ve had thus far. So, do you have any preference between the two?

  3. sallowness / Jun 4 2008 11:19 am

    Sallowness says : I absolutely agree with this !

  4. Olympian / Jun 21 2008 5:59 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Olympian!!

Leave a Reply

